Skip Navigation

About the Institute for Leadership

Mount St. Mary's University is founded on the four pillars of faith, discovery, leadership and community. The Leadership Institute has been assigned the important task of enlivening the University's leadership pillar and contributing to the core mission of the Mount.

"Mount St. Mary's is a Catholic university committed to education in the service of
truth; we seek to cultivate a community of learners formed by faith, engaged in discovery, and empowered for leadership in the Church, the professions, and the world."

Our Vision

The Institute for Leadership will prepare all Mount St. Mary's students to be a positive example for leadership and contributing citizens to the world we live in.

Our Mission

Starting in the classroom with interdisciplinary and cross cultural leadership courses and proceeding to a variety of co curricular 'hands on' learning activities, the Institute moves to enrich the Mount experience and empower the leaders of tomorrow with intelligence and compassion.

Our  Staff

Dana Sauers

Dana Larkin Sauers, M.Ed.

Interim Director/Teaching Fellow
(301) 447-3702
See full profile

Michael Hoover

Michael J. Hoover

Assistant Director
(301) 447-3702
See full profile


Lily O'Beirne

Graduate Assistant Institute for Leadership

Mike Zabetakis

Michael J. Zabetakis, C'14, MBA'15

Graduate Assistant Institute for Leadership
See full profile

John and David

John O'Flaherty & David Tielle

Resource Managers


Stephen Jackson

Trainer for Freshmen


Pangborn Memorial Room • Email Leadership • (301) 447-3702

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315