Skip Navigation

Mount St. Mary’s 5’5” Junior Robinson Competing in College Slam Dunk Championship

Robinson and Mount’s Chris Wray Also Picked for Inaugural 3x3 National Championship

Junior Robinson dunk shotEMMITSBURG, Md. (March 27, 2018) – Basketball fans nationwide will have an opportunity to witness the remarkable vertical jump of Mount St. Mary's University senior guard Junior Robinson (Mebane, N.C.)  on Thursday, March 29 at 9 p.m. EST, when ESPN2 airs live the 30th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships at Bill Greehey Arena at St. Mary's University in San Antonio. Robinson is one of eight men's college basketball players selected for the event after being recognized as one of the nation's most electric athletes.

A four-year starter, Robinson has thrilled Mount fans with a highlight reel that includes scoring 23 points, including the go-ahead basket, with 1:29 remaining, in the Mount’s 67-66 victory over New Orleans in the NCAA First Four in 2017 as well as leading the Mountaineers in the 2017 tournament's first round when the Mount outplayed No. 1 seeded Villanova in the first half of their matchup. In 2017-18, Robinson posted one of the top seasons in Mount history. A photo of Robinson shooting well over a leaping 6'7" opponent went viral on the university's Facebook page in December, securing nearly 2,500 engagements; the Mount Maniacs student section went wild when Robinson broke away for a slam dunk in a nationally televised game on January 25; and ESPN's Kevin Connors featured Robinson on his KC's Mid-Major Minute in February.

Robinson will continue to exhibit his talents on ESPN2 and Twitter throughout the weekend. He and fellow Mount senior Chris Wray (Shelby, N.C.) have been selected to participate in the inaugural Dos Equis 3X3U National Championship at St. Mary's University's Bill Greehey Arena in San Antonio.  This event will pit 32 four-man teams consisting of players from every Division I college basketball conference against each other in a three day, 3-on-3 tournament. These teams, comprised of seniors who have exhausted their collegiate eligibility, will compete for a $100,000 prize pool. Each pool play win will earn the team $1,000, and the team that wins the championship will earn $50,000. Robinson and Wray will represent the Northeast Conference along with Wagner's JoJo Cooper and LIU Brooklyn's Joel Hernandez.

Junior Robinson and Chris WrayThe Dos Equis 3X3U National Championship will begin on Friday, March 30 with 24 pool play games streamed live on Twitter from 7 p.m.-12:30 a.m. EST and will continue on Saturday, March 31 with another 24 pool play games streamed live on Twitter from 11 a.m.-3:30 p.m. EST. The event will conclude on Sunday, April 1 with the quarterfinals broadcast live on Twitter from 1:35-3 p.m. EST, and the semifinals, third-place game and championship game broadcast live on ESPN2 from 3:30-5:30 p.m. EST.

The 5'-5" Robinson was named the Northeast Conference (NEC) Player of the Year, becoming just the second player in Mount history to earn NEC Player of the Year honors. He led the NEC and is currently 14th in the nation in scoring at 22.0 points per game while he finished second in the conference with 4.9 assists per game.  Robinson scored 20 or more points in a game on 23 occasions this year, currently the fifth-most in the nation.

With 703 points this season, Robinson moved into third on the Mount St. Mary's all-time scoring list with 1,872 career points.  His 703 points are the second-most in a season in Mount history, joining legendary players Jack Sullivan, John O'Reilly, Chris McGuthrie and Fred Carter as the only players to score 600 or more points in a season.  Those four are the only Mount players to have their number retired.

Robinson is the second player at the Mount to earn NEC Player of the Year honors, joining McGuthrie who won the award in 1995-96.  Robinson was also named First Team All-NEC, becoming the sixth player in Mount history to earn First Team All-NEC honors, joining Elijah Long (2016-17), Jeremy Goode (2008-09; 2009-10), Gregory Harris (1998-99), Riley Inge (1995-96) and McGuthrie (1994-95; 1995-96) as the only Mount players to earn First Team All-NEC honors.  He was named NEC Player of the Week on five occasions this year, tying the conference record for most NEC Player of the Week awards in one season.

Wray became the second Mountaineer to be named NEC Defensive Player of the Year, joining two-time winner Mychal Kearse, who won the award in back-to-back seasons in 2005-06 and 2006-07.  One of the most versatile players in Mount history, Wray led the NEC in blocks (2.1), was tied for third in steals (2.0) and finished fourth in rebounds (8.3) in league games.  He blocked a career-high six shots in the Mount's win over Wagner, and has finished third all-time at the Mount with 141 career blocks.  Wray, who missed the first eight games of the season due to injury, was a consistent performer on the defensive end, tallying 16 games with two or more steals and 15 games with two or more blocked shots.  He grabbed five or more rebounds in 23 of 24 games played this year, while he had six games with double figures in rebounds.

Wray was also named Third Team All-NEC, becoming the third Mount player to earn Third Team All-NEC honors, joining Gregory Graves (2014-15) and BK Ashe (2014-15; 2015-16).  Wray averaged 9.6 points, 8.3 rebounds, 3.8 assists, 2.0 blocks and 2.1 steals per game this season while shooting 62.2 percent (102-of-164) from the field.  He was even better in NEC games, averaging 10.6 points per game while he led the NEC in field goal percentage (.631) and blocks (2.1), tied for third in steals (2.0), was eighth in assists (4.3), fourth in rebounds (8.3), fourth in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.9-to-1) and second in offensive rebounds (3.1).

Over the last 29 years, several of the top players in college basketball have competed in the College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, including Gary Payton, Steve Nash, Jason Terry, Kyle Korver, Bobby Hurley, Michael Finley, Damon Stoudamire, Allan Houston, Denzel Valentine, Yogi Ferrell, Wes Matthews, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Gearlds and Kristi Toliver.

For more information on the 2018 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, visit For more information on the Dos Equis 3X3U National Championship, visit

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315