Skip Navigation

Office of Competitive Fellowships

Fulbright Finalists 2017Mount St. Mary's University and the Office of Competitve Fellowships celebrated the success of five students in 2017, as they secured Fulbright awards and scholarships for some of the most prestigious and selective programs in the world.

Brigid Flay, C’17 (right), Samantha Solis, C’16 (left), and Alyse Spiehler, C’17 (center), were all selected as finalists for 2017-18 Fulbright English Teaching Assistant (ETA) Program Awards to Kazakhstan, Argentina and Mexico, respectively, through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program.

Lizzie Boyle Fulbright US-UKAdditionally, Elizabeth Boyle, C’19 (below, right), and Sydney Johnson, C’19, have been selected for Fulbright US-UK Summer Institute programs, with Boyle attending the University of Bristol and Johnson traveling to the Queen’s University Belfast.

During her four week stay in the U.K., Boyle has been immersed in the culture, going on an archaeological dig at Berkley Castle, as well as learning about the Theatre Collection at the University of Bristol, among other topics.

Fellowship Opportunities

The Office of Competitive Fellowships assists students and alumni of the Mount community with the application process for highly competitive and distinguished awards, such as the Fulbright, Marshall, Rhodes, Goldwater, and Gates Cambridge Scholarship. These awards typically fund a number of opportunities, often in an international setting, including graduate education, research and experiential learning, nonprofit or political service, and foreign language study.

Distinguished fellowships and scholarships provide unequalled experiences for personal and professional growth, and provide students a unique way to live into the university mission of graduating students “who see and seek to resolve the problems facing humanity.”

Learn more about fellowship and research grant opportunities.

Application Process

Because these awards are among the most competitive and prestigious in the nation, the Office of Competitive Fellowships recruit our brightest and highest-achieving students.

We work closely to help these students recognize their particular talents and develop their long-term professional goals, and advise them about scholarship and fellowship opportunities which will help them reach their full potential. We also support the application process at every step, from initial drafts to formal interviews.

Faculty Advisory Committee

Jamie Gianoutsos

Jamie Gianoutsos, Ph.D.
Director of Competitive Fellowships

Assistant Professor of History

B.A., Baylor University; M.A., The Queen’s University (Belfast, Northern Ireland); M.Phil., University of Cambridge, King’s College (Cambridge, England), Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University.

Areas of interest: Early Modern and Modern Europe, England, Political, Intellectual and Gender Studies.

Thane Naberhaus

Thane Naberhaus, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Philosophy

B.A., Rice University; M.A., University of Memphis; Ph.D., Georgetown University

Areas of interest: Phenomenology, 19th and 20th c. German philosophy, modern philosophy, and contemporary philosophy.

Garth Patterson

Garth E. Patterson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Analytical Chemistry

B.S. Westminster College, Ph.D. Purdue University.

Areas of interest: Development of novel mass spectrometric techniques and ultra-fast sampling of complex materials.

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315