Skip Navigation

Members of the Board of Trustees

  Baord LinkThe overall fiduciaries of the University – The Board of Trustees – create policy, set mission and purpose, and are tasked with building and maintaining a successful organization. They ensure good management, adequate resources and they appoint and support the Office of the President.

Communications from the Board

Statement on our Catholic Identity
► 2/16/16 – Listening to Mount Community
► 2/29/16 – Statement from the Board and President
► 3/15/16 – Board Names First Woman Chair
► 4/6/16 – The Future of the Mount
► 4/13/16 – Our Academic Core
5/13/16 – Interim President Update

To reach out to the Board of Trustees email

As directors of a non-profit and as leaders of an institution responsible for educating the next generation of leaders, trustees are the keepers of the mission of Mount St. Mary’s University. As such, they must pay particularly close attention to the mission, and the obligations to society that are unique to the academic enterprise. The Board of Trustees achieves this through various committees that create policy, review programs, strategic planning, relating the campus to the community, and the community to the campus. Among its largest roles is fundraising for the University, as well as engaging our alumni, parent, and student communities.

The Mount St. Mary’s University Board of Trustees is composed of great individuals that have come together to embody one of the country’s oldest, and greatest Catholic Universities.


Chair of the Board

Mrs. Mary D. Kane, C'84
President & CEO
Sister Cities International

Vice Chair of the Board

Mr. Howard N. Bolte, C'84
Executive Vice President
BDP International

Secretary of the Board

Mrs. Gracelyn A. McDermott, C'93
Executive Director, Account Management
Kaiser Permanente Mid-Atlantic States

Treasurer of the Board

Mr. Scott J. Newkam, C'72
Retired, President & CEO
Hershey Entertainment & Resorts Company


Mr. Anthony J. Agnone, C'75

President & CEO
Eastern Athletic Services

Most Reverend Paul S. Loverde

Bishop of Arlington

Honorable Jennifer M. Anderson, C'81

District of Columbia Superior Court

Mr. James V. McAveney, Jr., C'66

Retired, Executive Vice President & CFO
Loyola Federal Savings Bank

Ellen M. Callahan, C'81

Account Executive
Dunbar Armored

Msgr. Thomas J. Mullelly, C'74

Episcopal Vicar for Clergy
Diocese of Trenton

Mr. David P. Conaghan, C'81

Executive Director
CIBC World Markets

Rev. Vincent J. O'Malley

University Chaplain
Niagara University

Mr. Xavier J. DeCaire, C'73

George J. Weiner Associates, LLP

Mrs. Mary Noel Page

Mr. Jeremy M. Ellermeyer, C’92

Managing Director

Mr. Paul J. Palmieri, C'92

Managing Partner
Grit Capital

Rev. J. Kevin Farmer, C'87

St. John the Evangelist

Mr. Brian L. Smith, C'70

Chief Operating Officer
Segal Select Insurance Services, Inc.

Mr. Patrick J. Goles, C'64

Senior Vice President 
Janney Montgomery Scott, LLC

Mr. Robert J. Smith, C'64

Retired, Senior Partner
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP

Most Reverend William E. Lori, S'77

Archbishop of Baltimore

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315