Artboard 1 apply Artboard 1 copy 2 Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB give Artboard 1 copy 3 info link Mount_Logo_Primary_RGB Artboard 1 Artboard 2 Artboard 1 visit

Lighted Corners Literary Magazine

Launched in 1981, Lighted Corners is an annual literary and arts magazine that publishes poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, fine art, and photography created by students of Mount St. Mary’s University. Lighted Corners holds memberships with the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, the Associated Collegiate Press, and the Society for Collegiate Journalists. Mount St. Mary’s University enrolls 1,889 undergraduate students.

Lighted Corners 2021

Lighted Corners 2021

Rachel Donohue

Design Editor
Emmy Jansen

Art Editor
Janelle Ramroop

Poetry Co-Editors
Sarah Johnson & Alba Sarria

Fiction Co-Editors
Betsy Busch & Jazlyn Ibarra

Creative Nonfiction Co-Editors
Kerri Czekner & Maria Stollenwerk

Submission Manager
Tyler Jackson

Public Relations Manager
Kayla Cooper


Oloruntomi Dare

Claire Doll

Madison Hall

Kayla Jones

Sydney Kelly

Javon Sankoh

Malcom Stidham

Victoria Tyler


Eden Arouna

Rebekah Balick

Betsy Busch

Katie Creamer

Oloruntomi Dare

Claire Doll

Rachel Donohue

Gerald Dukuly

Maria Elser

Timothy Hrabinski

Jazlyn Ibarra

Trinity Imes

Kayla Jones

James Kempisty

Joanna Kreke

Logan Lencheski

Maya Marks

Natalie Meador

Paige Moseley

Eileen Rosewater

Javon Sankoh

Alba Sarria

Ian Schirra

Margaret Stine

Victoria Tyler

Abbie Woods


Columbia Scholastic Press Association is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques, and award programs.

  • Gold Medalist 2020, 2019, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2012, 2008
  • Silver Medalist 2018, 2013, 2011, 2010, 2009
  • Silver Crown Award 2014
  • Gold Circle Award 2020 to Tess Boegel, 2015 to Shannon Gilmore

Work published in Lighted Corners has been recognized by plain china: the Best Undergraduate Writing.

Three students on the staff of Lighted Corners are members of Sigma Tau Delta, Alpha Phi Iota chapter, as is the magazine’s adviser and the nine-member Department of English faculty. Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society, with over 900 active chapters located in the United States and abroad.

Our contributors have earned recognition in Delta Epsilon Sigma National Scholastic Honor Society’s undergraduate writing competition. Delta Epsilon Sigma is a national scholastic honor society established in 1939 for students of Catholic universities and colleges in the United States.

The Spring 2019 edition of Lighted Corners placed first in the nation for Literary Magazine Overall Excellence in a competition held by the Society for Collegiate Journalists.

The William Heath Award

The William Heath Award is an honor earned by the student who demonstrates outstanding achievement in creative writing.

For more than twenty-five years, Dr. William Heath taught American literature and creative writing at Mount St. Mary’s University. In 2007 he retired as a Professor Emeritus. His courses inspired much of the poetry and fiction that appeared in Lighted Corners since its inception in 1981. As advisor to Lighted Corners, he helped the magazine grow.

Heath’s most recent book, William Wells and the Struggle for the Old Northwest, recently won two prestigious Golden Spur awards from the Western Writers of America. Heath’s awards were for Best Western Historical Nonfiction and Best First Nonfiction Book. He is also the author of three novels Devil Dancer, Blacksnake’s Path: The True Adventures of William Wells, The Children Bob Moses Led, and a book of poems, The Walking Man. In 2016 Conversations with Robert Stone was published by the University of Mississippi Press.

Visit Dr. Heath's website for additional information. >


  • 2021 • Alba Sarria
  • 2020 • Breanna DeSimone and Cara Gose
  • 2019 • Katherine Brittingham
  • 2018 • Trevor J. Fulmer and Maggie McCormick
  • 2017 • Joseph Theis
  • 2016 • Samantha Solis
  • 2015 • Kaitlyn M. Bryans
  • 2014 • Bernadette Olivia Gorman
  • 2013 • Melissa Caffrey
  • 2012 • Karolina Gajdeczka
  • 2011 • Erica Szalkowski
  • 2010 • Chelsea Baranoski
  • 2009 • Caitlin Finnerty
  • 2008 • Annie Hilliard
  • 2007 • Emily J. Catron

Policy Statement

At the end of the fall semester, students from across the university submit works that reflect diverse perspectives and themes. After removing the names of contributors, the Lighted Corners staff reviews submissions. The editors make final selections and design the layout for the magazine by striving to create a union between word, image, and theme.